“The Override Switch reflects on the precise moment people decide in their minds that the only way to improve a situation is to act – to change the scenario and deal with the consequences as they develop to work for a better outcome”. – Jeff Mills about his album with Rafael Leafar – text by Lee Shields

Spread the love

The Override Switch gives control back to the musicians. Unrestrained and unshackled by the semiotics placed by conventional dance music, it looks to a frontier beyond what is conditioned by genre. By infusing the mercurial elements of jazz, it gives electronic instruments the avenue that it always had the potential to travel down; as an unrestrictive genre, exploring the boundless possibilities in which it is capable. It looks to innovation and transcends what has come before; it is a switch in a practical sense, overlooking its past before switching to the future.

“The Override Switch reflects on the precise moment people decide in their minds that the only way to improve a situation is to act – to change the scenario and deal with the consequences as they develop to work for a better outcome”. – Jeff Mills

Tracklist Digital

01. Homage
02. The River Runs Five Ways
03. Infinite Voyage
04. Crashing
05. Soul Filter Buffet
06. The Sun King
07. Soul Filter (The Dancer)
08. Trigger Happy (With Safety Off)
09. Trigger Happy (With Safety On) (digital bonus) 10. Breaker Breaker One Ten (digital bonus)

The album combines the talent of two Detroit natives: Jeff Mills and Rafael Leafar. The latter is a multi-instrumentalist with a strong affiliation to jazz music. His tastes and skills are malleable across a plethora of genres, taking influences from his father and sisters from a very early age. He honed his craft in Sterling Heights High School, DSA, Detroit Civic Jazz Orchestra, & The New School for Jazz. La- ter developing his music in New York, he has performed with Reggie Workman, Marcus Belgrave, Vincent Chandler, and Jeff Tain Watts. In 2016 he moved back to Detroit, where he met Mike Banks from Underground Resistance, and they be- gan to experiment on music together. Through Mike Banks, he was introduced to Jeff Mills, where the idea for The Override Switch began to manifest.

The connection to Mills was evident from their roots, as Detroit musicians are engrained within musical development. Axis records and Jeff Mills have embarked on a journey through electronic music, amalgamating it with live instruments to de- velop the future of sound and genres. Previously, Mills has combined with the likes of Jean-Phi Dary, Tony Allen and Spiral Deluxe to indulge in an electronic jazz sound. However, The Override Switch gave an unprecedented opportunity to develop a sound within an undisturbed environment, to push something representative of the 21st century. It removed the microscope and fell into place naturally.

The album is a homage to artists like John Coltrane, J Dilla, Kraftwerk and those who inspire experimentation with what can be evoked through music. The track ‚The Sun King‘ perfectly exemplifies this. It flows from the spirit; music pours out like the River Nile as it rises and descends its banks. It represents the day and potential it brings; how the light should be cherished and worshipped for its energy.

The soul is encapsulated by the combination of percussions ensnared and buoyed by the enchanting, beguiling and immersive horns and flutes.

The Override Switch requires an attentive ear to muse over the propositions, challenges, and insights it presents. It asks for mind and soul as the listener should actively participate in the music.

The album is out on October 15, 2021 under the Axis label, and will be released in double vinyl and digital.

Text: Lee Shields

Override Switch 将控制权交还给音乐家。不受传统舞曲所放置的符号学的束缚和束缚,它看起来超越了流派所限制的前沿。通过注入爵士乐的善变元素,它为电子乐器提供了一条始终有可能向下传播的途径;作为一种不受限制的流派,探索其能力的无限可能性。它着眼于创新并超越以往;它是一个实际意义上的转换,在转换到未来之前忽略它的过去。

“覆盖开关反映了人们在他们心中决定改善情况的唯一方法是采取行动的精确时刻——改变场景并在他们发展时处理后果以争取更好的结果”。 – 杰夫·米尔斯

这张专辑结合了两位底特律本地人的才华:Jeff Mills 和 Rafael Leafar。后者是一位多乐器演奏家,对爵士乐有着浓厚的兴趣。他的品味和技能在众多流派中都具有可塑性,从很小的时候就受到他父亲和姐妹们的影响。他在 Sterling Heights 高中、DSA、底特律市民爵士乐团和爵士新学校磨练了自己的技艺。后来在纽约发展他的音乐,他曾与 Reggie Workman、Marcus Belgrave、Vincent Chandler 和 Jeff Tain Watts 合作演出。 2016 年,他搬回底特律,在那里遇到了来自 Underground Resistance 的 Mike Banks,他们开始一起尝试音乐。通过迈克·班克斯,他被介绍给了杰夫·米尔斯,在那里 The Override Switch 的想法开始显现。

与米尔斯的联系从他们的根源就很明显,因为底特律音乐家在音乐发展中根深蒂固。 Axis Records 和 Jeff Mills 开始了电子音乐之旅,将其与现场乐器相结合,以开发声音和流派的未来。此前,Mills 与 Jean-Phi Dary、Tony Allen 和 Spiral Deluxe 等人一起沉迷于电子爵士乐。然而,Override Switch 提供了前所未有的机会,可以在不受干扰的环境中开发声音,推动具有 21 世纪代表性的东西。它取下显微镜,自然地就位。

这张专辑向 John Coltrane、J Dilla、Kraftwerk 等艺术家以及那些通过音乐激发灵感的人致敬。歌曲“太阳王”完美地体现了这一点。它来自精神;音乐像尼罗河一样倾泻而下。它代表着它带来的日子和潜力;应该如何珍惜和崇拜光的能量。


Override Switch 需要仔细聆听它所呈现的主张、挑战和见解。它要求思想和灵魂,因为听众应该积极参与音乐。

该专辑将于 2021 年 10 月 15 日以 Axis 标签发行,并将以双黑胶唱片和数字唱片发行。