Jeff Mills presents “The Trip – Enter The Black Hole” is out digitally on March 20th.

Spread the love

Jeff Mills’ album, The Trip – Enter The Black Hole is out digitally March 20th. 2 x 12 and CD follow mid May 2024

Jeff Mills – The Trip: What happens on the cosmic journey toward the black hole?  What is on the other side of the black hole? Jeff Mills is set to explore these questions through a performance that appeals to the auditory and visual senses.

Since the beginning of humanity, man has always wondered about what lies beyond the stars, pondering questions about our identity, destiny, and nature of existence. Exploring these ideas through storytelling allows us to envision alternative realities and expand our minds. Jeff Mills delves into theoretical possibilities, such as entering a black hole, to illustrate the potential effects on time and space.

The Trip – Enter The Black Hole

01. Entering The Black Hole
02. Contradiction ft. Jun Togawa (Silent shadow Mix)
03. Beyond The Event Horizon 
04. Time In The Abstract 
05. Hole ft. Jun Togawa 
06. When Time Stops
07. No Escape 
08. Contradiction ft. Jun Togawa (Long Radio Mix)
09. Time Reflective 
10. Wandering 
11. Hole ft. Jun Togawa (White Hole Mix)
12. Infinite Redshift 

“The Trip” began about leaving Planet Earth and searching the cosmos for a new locations to live. Now, at 23 years later, we are entering a new chapter of the project where we encounter The Black Hole “Black Hole”.

A black hole is a celestial object whose gravity is so strong that no information leaks out, so it was impossible to observe it, and it was only a theoretical existence, but its location was identified for the first time in 2011. The latest research shows that it rotates on its own axis. Black holes are physically contradictory entities that are difficult to imagine, but what Jeff Mills is trying to deal with in “The Trip” also overlaps with singularity, which is the beginning or possible end of time and space. Displayed in 5 theoretical scenarios of what could happen after entering through the Black Hole and exiting on the other side. (Excerpts Liner Notes by Itaru W. Mita)

Jun Togawa, a prominent figure in Japanese New Wave music known for her emotionally impactful songs, was invited by Jeff Mills to participate in a project.

Togawa’s work, including space-themed tracks like “Rise” (Yapoos), demonstrates her versatility and engagement with sci-fi themes. In the collaboration with Mills, titled “Contradiction” and “Hole,” Togawa provided vocals over Mills’ original compositions, with additional synth pad edits by Shinichi Yamaguchi. In the “Contradiction” Long Radio Mix, Mills incorporated guitar elements reminiscent of Rock ‘n’ Roll legend Bo Diddley, played skillfully by Kazuhide Yamaji of Yapoos.

  • Program, synthesizer: Jeff Mills,
  • Vocals: Jun Togawa,
  • Keyboard (Hole): Shinichi Yamaguchi,
  • Edited, Mixed and Produced by: Jeff Mills,
  • Mastering by: Steve Kovacs,
  • Vocal recording engineer: Jiro Takita,
  • recorded at Flamingo Studio, Tokyo,
  • Lyric melodies by Lion Mary (Contradiction) and Shinichi Yamaguchi (Hole),
  • Black hole image by Colo (Cosmic Lab)

Axis Records, AX119, Formats: digital (March 20), 2×12“ & CD (mid May)


Jeff Mills

Axis Records

Cosmic Lab